The Silver Thistle Award recognises an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to tourism over many years.

The Silver Thistle Award winner will continue to act as an ambassador for the Scottish tourism sector in general, and the Thistle Awards in particular, for years to come, as they have much to offer the industry.

Nominations are put forward by the Scottish Thistle Award Industry Panel members and VisitScotland Chair, Chief Executive and Executive Directors. Nominees must be an established figure within their field and the wider Scottish tourism industry. They should inspire excellence in others as well as encouraging and delivering stand-out work.

Responsible tourism is now at the heart of the Scottish Thistle Awards, supporting the aim for Scotland to be recognised globally as a leader in this field. The Silver Thistle Award recognises an individual who is pivotal in helping the tourism and events industry become the best it can be, having embraced best practice and leading by example in one or more of the four key areas of a low carbon economy, inclusivity, thriving communities and Scotland’s natural and cultural heritage.

2023 Silver Thistle Award Winner | David and Wilma Finlay, Cream O' Galloway


Scottish Thistle Awards
c/o VisitScotland
94 Ocean Drive
Edinburgh EH6 6JH
0131 472 2228


© Copyright Scottish Thistle Awards 2023